Music Schools Worldwide

Online Music Education Programs

Programs with a verified link to music education whose official pages document online, hybrid or low-residency study. Fully online, hybrid and low-residency programs are labelled separately; a video audition or an online application does not make a program online.

Online music studyAll online music programs

Online study does not mean no travel, no live sessions or no equipment cost. Performance study depends on individual lessons, ensembles and recitals: each program states how they are delivered, which residencies are mandatory and where students may enrol.

What “online” means for each program

Each listing states what is taught online and what is not: mandatory campus attendance, residencies, in-person assessment, local placements, live attendance and time-zone requirements. Where a requirement is not published it is shown as not published, not as “none”.

Fully online academic instruction (28)

Teaching is fully online. Read the details: assessment, placements and live sessions can still require presence.

  • Master of Music, Music Education concentration (online)

    Ball State University · Master of Music MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Education in Music Education

    Brenau University · Master of Education in Music Education Other master’s award

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music Education

    Dallas Baptist University · Master of Music Education Other master’s award

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    $550 per credit, not stated

  • Master of Music with Concentration in Music Education (online)

    East Carolina University · Master of Music with Concentration in Music Education MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music in Music Education

    Eastern Washington University · Master of Music in Music Education MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Science in Music Education (online option)

    Florida International University · Master of Science in Music Education MS / MSc

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    In-person assessment: Interviews can be done on-site or done via Skype (per audition requirements on the page)

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music, concentration in Music Education (distance learning)

    George Mason University · Master of Music MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: Optional one- to three-week summer intensive elective courses on the Fairfax campus (up to 9 elective credits); hybrid Kodaly, Orff and Jazz Intensive options have face-to-face summer components.

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music in Music Education (online)

    Houghton University - Greatbatch School of Music · Master of Music MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Arts in Music

    Jacksonville State University · Master of Arts in Music MA

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music in Music Education (100% Online)

    Lamar University · Master of Music in Music Education MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Arts in Music Education (online)

    Liberty University · Master of Arts in Music Education MA

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: The page states some courses may be required in intensive or alternative formats, which may include scheduled meeting times, travel to campus, or required login sessions.

    Tuition not published

  • Music, Music Education Concentration, M.M.

    Middle Tennessee State University · Master of Music MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Music Education Online (M.M.)

    Ohio University · Master of Music MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not requiredNo live sessions (asynchronous)International enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music Education

    Southeastern Oklahoma State University · Master of Music Education Other master’s award

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Music Education (M.M.)

    State University of New York at Fredonia - School of Music · Master of Music MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music in Music Education (online format)

    SUNY Potsdam - The Crane School of Music · Master of Music in Music Education MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music in Music Education

    Tarleton State University · Master of Music in Music Education MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Music Education for Practicing Educators (online MM)

    The University of Tennessee, Knoxville · Master of Music MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not requiredNo live sessions (asynchronous)International enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • MEd Music Education (Online)

    Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance · MEd Music Education (Online) Other master’s award

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Local placement: complete inspiring work placements

    £4,000 per year, 2026-27

  • Master of Music in Music Education (online)

    University of Central Oklahoma · Master of Music MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music in Music Education (Online)

    University of Florida · Master of Music in Music Education MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music Education (M.M.Ed.), online

    University of Georgia · Master of Music Education Other master’s award

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Music Education MAE Program

    University of Nebraska at Kearney · Master of Arts in Education MA

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedNo live sessions (asynchronous)International enrolment: Not published

    $369 per credit, in-state residents, as published (year not stated on page) (+1 more)

  • Music M.M.: Music Education (online)

    University of Northern Iowa · Master of Music in Music Education MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Arts in Music Education (online)

    University of South Florida · Master of Arts in Music Education MA

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive sessions required (synchronous)International enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music: Education (100% Online)

    University of West Georgia · Master of Music in Education MM / MMus

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music Education (MME)

    University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point · Master of Music Education Other master’s award

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music Education (distance learning)

    William Carey University · Master of Music Education Other master’s award

    Fully online instructionCampus attendance: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

Low-residency programs (8)

Mostly distance study with required periods on site. Never fully online.

  • Master of Music Education

    Bemidji State University · Master of Music Education Other master’s award

    Distance study with required residenciesCampus attendance: requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: Three consecutive summers · 4-week residency each summer · Bemidji State University, Bemidji, MinnesotaIn-person assessment: Final projects, theses or recitals are shared with the community in the third year for those completing capstone projects

    Tuition not published

  • Online DMA in Music Education

    Boston University · Doctor of Musical Arts in Music Education DMA

    Distance study with required residenciesCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: After completing 44 units · weeklong · on campus

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music in Music Education: Professional Practice Emphasis

    Converse University · Master of Music in Music Education: Professional Practice Emphasis MM / MMus

    Distance study with required residenciesCampus attendance: requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: Two summers (one residency in each summer of the two-year program) · 10 days each · Converse University, Spartanburg campus

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Arts in Music, Music Education Concentration

    Eastern Illinois University · Master of Arts in Music MA

    Distance study with required residenciesCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: single summer residency · one week · EIU campus

    Tuition not published

  • Education Specialization, Music MA

    Indiana University of Pennsylvania · Music MA (Education Specialization) MA

    Distance study with required residenciesCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: summer · two weeks

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music in Music Education – Kodály Emphasis

    Lakeland University · Master of Music in Music Education – Kodály Emphasis MM / MMus

    Distance study with required residenciesCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: three summers · two weeks per summer · Lakeland University main campus, Sheboygan, Wisconsin

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music in Music Education (in-person summer format)

    SUNY Potsdam - The Crane School of Music · Master of Music in Music Education MM / MMus

    Distance study with required residenciesCampus attendance: requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: two consecutive summersResidency extra costs: college provides opportunities for on-campus housing at weekly rates

    Tuition not published

  • Hybrid Summer M.A. in Music and Music Education

    Teachers College, Columbia University - Music and Music Education · Master of Arts MA

    Distance study with required residenciesCampus attendance: requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: two summers (a third summer residency is optional) · four weeks each · New York City

    Tuition not published

Hybrid programs (9)

Part online, part in person. Never fully online.

  • Master of Music in Music Education

    Concordia College · Master of Music in Music Education MM / MMus

    Blended with required campus elementsCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: accelerated summer session on campus in July

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music Education (M.M.Ed.)

    Gordon College · Master of Music Education (M.M.Ed.) Other master’s award

    Blended with required campus elementsCampus attendance: requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Music Education, M.M.

    Immaculata University · Master of Music Education MM / MMus

    Blended with required campus elementsCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music Education

    Messiah University · Master of Music Education Other master’s award

    Mostly onlineCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: Optional 1-week, on-campus summer intensive course

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music Education

    Mississippi State University · Master of Music Education Other master’s award

    Blended with required campus elementsCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: Choral and Elementary tracks are summer programs completed in three consecutive summers; Instrumental track is a five-week June term over three summers plus hybrid classes.

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music in Music Education

    The University of Tennessee at Martin · Master of Music in Music Education MM / MMus

    Blended with required campus elementsCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Tuition not published

  • Bachelor of Music in Contemporary & Popular Music

    University of Maine at Augusta · Bachelor of Music in Contemporary & Popular Music BM / BMus

    Blended with required campus elementsCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Local placement: Student teaching cannot be accommodated for students living outside of Maine (Music Education concentration)

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Music Education (MMEd)

    VanderCook College of Music · Master of Music Education Other master’s award

    Blended with required campus elementsCampus attendance: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Residency: Six-week summer residency consists of 3 weeks online followed by 3 weeks onsite instruction

    Tuition not published

  • Music Education, M.A.

    Vermont State University · Music Education, M.A. MA

    Mostly onlineCampus attendance: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published

    Local placement: in-person practicum and student teaching in schools near you

    Tuition not published

45 programs

How results are ordered: alphabetically by institution, or by most recently checked when you choose that sort. There is no price ranking, because tuition in different currencies, fee categories and bases (per year, per credit, whole program) is not comparable. A program appears under a subject only through a verified link (dedicated degree, major, concentration or documented pathway). A value we could not verify is shown as “not published”, never as “no”. Items marked Sponsored are paid placements; they never change verification or order. Online programs are not counted as physically located in a state or city, and an institution’s location does not tell you whether it enrols students from your country.