Music Schools Worldwide

Researched selection · reviewed 25 October 2026 · unranked

Best Online Music Programs

An unranked selection of verified online, hybrid and low-residency music programs whose records meet at least three published evidence criteria.

Not a league table. “Top” and “best” are used in the ordinary sense of a short list chosen against stated criteria; within each group the order is alphabetical. No institution paid to be included, and sponsorship is separate from editorial selection.

North America

  • Bemidji State University logo

    Bemidji State University: Master of Music Education

    University · Bemidji, Minnesota, United States

    Master’sOther master’s awardMaster of Music EducationTuition not published

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music education); published audition or admissions requirements; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Audition or admissions facts published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; tuition published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • Berklee College of Music logo

    Berklee College of Music: Master of Music in Music Production (Berklee Online)

    College · Boston, Massachusetts, United States

    Master’sMM / MMusMaster of Music in Music Production$34,988 whole program, 36 credits, as published on the page retrieved 2026-10-25

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music production); published tuition with currency, basis and year; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Tuition published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; audition or admissions facts published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • Converse University: Master of Music in Music Education: Professional Practice Emphasis

    University · Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States

    Master’sMM / MMusMaster of Music in Music Education: Professional Practice EmphasisTuition not published

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music education); published audition or admissions requirements; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Audition or admissions facts published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; tuition published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • Dallas Baptist University logo

    Dallas Baptist University: Master of Music Education

    University · Dallas, Texas, United States

    Master’sOther master’s awardMaster of Music Education$550 per credit, not stated

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music education); published tuition with currency, basis and year; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Tuition published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; audition or admissions facts published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • Judson University logo

    Judson University: Master of Arts in Community Music Leadership

    University · Elgin, Illinois, United States

    Master’sMAMaster of Arts in Community Music LeadershipTuition not published

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (general music studies); a published study structure; published student-support, ensemble or research information.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Study structure published; Student support, ensembles or research information published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; tuition published; audition or admissions facts published; campus facilities published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • SUNY Potsdam - The Crane School of Music logo

    SUNY Potsdam - The Crane School of Music: Master of Music in Music Education (in-person summer format)

    College · Potsdam, New York, United States

    Master’sMM / MMusMaster of Music in Music EducationTuition not published

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music education); published audition or admissions requirements; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Audition or admissions facts published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; tuition published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • SUNY Potsdam - The Crane School of Music logo

    SUNY Potsdam - The Crane School of Music: Master of Music in Music Education (online format)

    College · Potsdam, New York, United States

    Master’sMM / MMusMaster of Music in Music EducationTuition not published

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music education); published audition or admissions requirements; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Audition or admissions facts published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; tuition published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • Tarleton State University logo

    Tarleton State University: Master of Music in Music Education

    University · Stephenville, Texas, United States

    Master’sMM / MMusMaster of Music in Music EducationTuition not published

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music education); published audition or admissions requirements; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Audition or admissions facts published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; tuition published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • University of Maine at Augusta: Bachelor of Music in Contemporary & Popular Music

    University · Augusta, Maine, United States

    Bachelor’sBM / BMusBachelor of Music in Contemporary & Popular MusicTuition not published

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (popular music); published audition or admissions requirements; published practice, recording, rehearsal or performance facilities for the campus.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Audition or admissions facts published; Campus facilities published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; tuition published; study structure published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • University of Miami logo

    University of Miami: Master of Arts in Music Industry (Online)

    University · Coral Gables, Florida, United States

    Master’sMAMaster of Arts in Music Industry$1,326 per credit, 2026-2027 (+1 more)

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music business); published tuition with currency, basis and year; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Tuition published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; audition or admissions facts published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • University of Nebraska at Kearney logo

    University of Nebraska at Kearney: Music Education MAE Program

    University · Kearney, Nebraska, United States

    Master’sMAMaster of Arts in Education$369 per credit, in-state residents, as published (year not stated on page) (+1 more)

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music education); published tuition with currency, basis and year; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Tuition published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; audition or admissions facts published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • VanderCook College of Music: Master of Music Education (MMEd)

    College · Chicago, Illinois, United States

    Master’sOther master’s awardMaster of Music EducationTuition not published

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music education); published audition or admissions requirements; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Audition or admissions facts published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; tuition published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

Europe

  • Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin) logo

    Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin): Music (Conducting)

    University · Dublin, Ireland

    Master’sMM / MMusMaster of Music€8,500 whole program, eu/eea students, full-time, as shown on the course page (+1 more)

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (conducting); published tuition with currency, basis and year; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Tuition published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; audition or admissions facts published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin) logo

    Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin): Music (Musicology and Performance)

    University · Dublin, Ireland

    Master’sMM / MMusMaster of Music€8,500 whole program, eu/eea students, full-time, as shown on the course page (+1 more)

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (musicology); published tuition with currency, basis and year; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Tuition published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; audition or admissions facts published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance logo

    Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance: MA Songwriting (Online)

    Conservatory · Greenwich, London, England, United Kingdom

    Master’sMAMA Songwriting£6,970 per year, 2026-27

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (songwriting); published tuition with currency, basis and year; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Tuition published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; audition or admissions facts published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.

  • Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance logo

    Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance: MEd Music Education (Online)

    Conservatory · Greenwich, London, England, United Kingdom

    Master’sOther master’s awardMEd Music Education (Online)£4,000 per year, 2026-27

    Why it is here: Meets 3 of 7 evidence criteria: a dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway (music education); published tuition with currency, basis and year; a published study structure.

    Evidence: Dedicated degree, named major or instrument pathway; Tuition published; Study structure published

    Limitations: Not published on the pages we checked: verified accreditation or validation record; audition or admissions facts published; campus facilities published; student support, ensembles or research information published. This reflects what an institution publishes, not necessarily the quality of its teaching.