Master’s degree · MM / MMus
Master of Music
Yale University · Yale School of Music · New Haven, Connecticut, United States
- Official award
- Master of MusicM.M.
- Subject
- General Music StudiesCompositionConductingInstrument pathways: Harp, Harpsichord, Organ, Percussion, Piano
- Format
- On campustwo-year program
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year Master of Music offered in all of the school's areas of study.
- Department
- Yale School of Music
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of MusicM.M.
- Award family
- MM / MMusA Master of Music or MMus, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Qualification level
- Master’s degree
- Qualification standing
- Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
- Orientation
- Orientation not published
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| General Music Studies | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. | |
| Composition | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | “Composition”Source |
| Conducting | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | “Conducting”Source |
Instrument and voice pathways
This is ONE program with the verified pathways below, not a separate degree per instrument. A pathway is listed only where an official page names the instrument in the title, as a major or as a formal principal-study option.
| Instrument | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Harp | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Harp”Source |
| Harpsichord | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Harpsichord”Source |
| Organ | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Organ”Source |
| Percussion | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Percussion”Source |
| Piano | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Piano”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- two-year program
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Yale University campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Audition
- Audition required
- Audition details
- Format: Recorded prescreening and live audition
- Prescreening: Prescreening recordings are required in addition to the online application.
- Prescreening deadline: December 1 (year not printed on the page)
- Audition application deadline: Live auditions and DMA Exams by invitation only, February 22 – 28 (year not printed on the page)
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether lessons, accompanists, practice rooms, instrument hire, software, recording, recitals, travel and residency costs are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Full-tuition award and fellowship Fellowship
Basis not stated
Eligibility: All admitted students, except those receiving awards from other agencies
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 25 October 2026)