Performance / practice doctorate · DMA
Doctor of Musical Arts
Yale University · Yale School of Music · New Haven, Connecticut, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Musical ArtsD.M.A.
- Subject
- General Music Studies
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Practice doctorate combining a two-year residency on campus with a following period of professional work.
- Department
- Yale School of Music
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Doctor of Musical ArtsD.M.A.
- Award family
- DMAA Doctor of Musical Arts: a performance and practice doctorate, kept separate from the research PhD.
- Qualification level
- Performance / practice doctorate
- Qualification standing
- Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
- Orientation
- Orientation not published
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| General Music Studies | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Yale University campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Audition
- Audition required
- Audition details
- Format: Recorded prescreening and live audition
- Prescreening: Prescreening recordings are required in addition to the online application.
- Prescreening deadline: December 1 (year not printed on the page)
- Audition application deadline: Live auditions and DMA Exams by invitation only, February 22 – 28 (year not printed on the page)
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- Yale School of Music
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether lessons, accompanists, practice rooms, instrument hire, software, recording, recitals, travel and residency costs are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Full-tuition award and fellowship Fellowship
Basis not stated
Eligibility: All admitted students, except those receiving awards from other agencies
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 25 October 2026)