Music Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · Other master’s award

Music Therapy (MMT)

Wilfrid Laurier University · Faculty of Music · Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Music Therapy (MMT)MMT
Subject
Music Therapy
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Graduate music therapy degree with a two-year pathway for students from other backgrounds and a one-year option for Bachelor of Music Therapy holders, including a music psychotherapy field.

Department
Faculty of Music
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Music Therapy (MMT)MMT
Award family
Other master’s awardAnother earned master’s-level award, such as MMusEd, MRes, MPhil, Diplom or a locally named qualification, shown with its official title.
Qualification level
Master’s degree
Qualification standing
Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
Orientation
Orientation not published
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Music TherapyDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Professional pathway

Academic study and professional licensure or clinical registration are different things. This is recorded exactly as the program states it.

Type
Music therapy professional pathway
What the page says
The school states a supervised 1000-hour internship approved by the CAMT in the two-year program, after which graduates may be eligible to complete the CBMT examination and begin certification through the CAMT; it also states graduates may apply to become qualifying members of the CRPO (see recognitions).Source
Jurisdiction
Canada (Ontario for CRPO)

Qualifications and professional recognition vary by country and program. Confirm requirements with the relevant professional body before enrolling.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

  • Stated by the schoolCollege of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario (CRPO)Professional-body validationCA

    Scope: Graduates of the two-year program and of the one-year music psychotherapy field may apply to become qualifying members of the CRPO, as stated by the school

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Main campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Audition
Audition requirement not published
Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether lessons, accompanists, practice rooms, instrument hire, software, recording, recitals, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, intakes, audition requirement, whether a previous degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction