Research doctorate · PhD
Doctor of Philosophy in Music: Ethnomusicology
University of North Texas · UNT College of Music · Denton, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of PhilosophyPh.D.
- Subject
- Ethnomusicology
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate in music with an ethnomusicology area.
- Department
- UNT College of Music
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Doctor of PhilosophyPh.D.
- Award family
- PhDA Doctor of Philosophy (PhD): a research doctorate. A performance doctorate such as the DMA is a different award.
- Qualification level
- Research doctorate
- Qualification standing
- Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
- Orientation
- Orientation not published
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Ethnomusicology | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
Stated by the schoolNational Association of Schools of Music (NASM)Program accreditationUS
Scope: as stated by the school
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- University of North Texas main campus1155 Union Circle #311367
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Audition
- Audition depends on route or instrument
- Audition details
- Format: Recorded prescreening and live audition
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- Fall 2027 admission: applications by November 1 for the December live audition/interview; preference to applications received by December 1 for January or February dates; final deadline to submit the music application and video auditions for most areas February 15 (February 1 for Commercial Music, Critical Studies, Electronics, Graduate Voice, Jazz Studies and Piano) · Fall 2027
Research degree details
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| College of Music application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $40one-time, not stated | All students | 25 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 25 October 2026)