Music Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · Other master’s award

大学院音楽研究科(修士課程・前期2年の課程)

Graduate School of Music, master's programme

Tokyo University of the Arts · 音楽学部 · Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
修士(音楽)
Subject
CompositionOpera and Vocal StudiesMusic PerformanceInstrument pathways: Piano, Organ
Format
On campus修士課程(前期2年の課程)
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Two-year master's course awarding a Master of Music (shushi (ongaku)) with majors in composition, voice, instrumental music, conducting, Japanese traditional music, musicology and music culture.

Department
音楽学部
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
修士(音楽)
Award family
Other master’s awardAnother earned master’s-level award, such as MMusEd, MRes, MPhil, Diplom or a locally named qualification, shown with its official title.
Qualification level
Master’s degree
Qualification standing
Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
Orientation
Orientation not published
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
CompositionNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“修士(音楽):作曲、声楽、器楽、指揮、邦楽、音楽学、音楽文化学の各専攻”Source
Opera and Vocal StudiesNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“修士(音楽):作曲、声楽、器楽、指揮、邦楽、音楽学、音楽文化学の各専攻”Source
Music PerformanceNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“修士(音楽):作曲、声楽、器楽、指揮、邦楽、音楽学、音楽文化学の各専攻”Source
ConductingNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“修士(音楽):作曲、声楽、器楽、指揮、邦楽、音楽学、音楽文化学の各専攻”Source
Musicology and Music HistoryNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“修士(音楽):作曲、声楽、器楽、指揮、邦楽、音楽学、音楽文化学の各専攻”Source

Instrument and voice pathways

This is ONE program with the verified pathways below, not a separate degree per instrument. A pathway is listed only where an official page names the instrument in the title, as a major or as a formal principal-study option.

InstrumentRelationshipDetail
Piano, OrganFormal principal-study pathwayThe instrument is a formal principal-study option of the program, confirmed on an official page. Private lessons alone do not make a degree pathway.器楽“専攻 研究分野 作曲 作曲 声楽 声楽 オペラ オペラ 器楽 ピアノ オルガン 弦楽 管打楽 室内楽 古楽”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
修士課程(前期2年の課程)
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Tokyo University of the Arts (music)

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Audition
Audition requirement not published
Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether lessons, accompanists, practice rooms, instrument hire, software, recording, recitals, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, audition requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction