Music Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MM / MMus

Master of Music - Music (concentrations)

Texas State University · School of Music · San Marcos, Texas, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of MusicMM
Subject
Music PerformanceConductingComposition
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Thirty-six-hour graduate degree with performance, conducting, composition, musicology, theory, jazz and Latin music concentrations.

Department
School of Music
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of MusicMM
Award family
MM / MMusA Master of Music or MMus, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Qualification level
Master’s degree
Qualification standing
Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
Orientation
Orientation not published
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Music PerformanceNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.How students choose it is not published“M.M. Music - Keyboard, String, or Guitar Performance”Source
ConductingNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.How students choose it is not published“M.M. Music - Choral Conducting”Source
CompositionNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.How students choose it is not published“M.M. Music - Composition”Source
Musicology and Music HistoryNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.How students choose it is not published“M.M. Music - Musicology”Source
Music TheoryNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.How students choose it is not published“M.M. Music - Music Theory”Source
Jazz StudiesNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.How students choose it is not published“M.M. Music - Jazz Performance”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Texas State University main campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Audition
Audition required
Audition details
  • Format: Live or recorded
  • Audition application deadline: Graduate College documents on file by January 15 and the audition or portfolio review completed by January 28 for full consideration for scholarships and assistantships (year not printed); for full scholarship or graduate assistantship consideration, audition on or before February 27, 2027.
SourceSpecific to this program and intake. Check the current admissions cycle; nothing here guarantees admission, and you cannot assume you may audition for a particular teacher.
Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published
Deadlines
  • Audition on or before February 27, 2027 for full scholarship or graduate assistantship consideration

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether lessons, accompanists, practice rooms, instrument hire, software, recording, recitals, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction