Music Schools Worldwide

Bachelor’s degree · BM / BMus

B.M. in Music Composition

Southern Methodist University · Division of Music, Meadows School of the Arts · Dallas, Texas, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Bachelor of MusicB.M.
Subject
CompositionFilm, Television and Game Scoring (concentration)
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Undergraduate composition degree, with a separate Film & Game track listed.

Department
Division of Music, Meadows School of the Arts
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Bachelor of MusicB.M.
Award family
BM / BMusA Bachelor of Music or BMus, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Qualification level
Bachelor’s degree
Qualification standing
Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
Orientation
Orientation not published
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
CompositionDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.
Film, Television and Game ScoringOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.Film & Game TrackHow students choose it is not published“B.M. in Composition – Film & Game Track”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

  • Stated by the schoolNational Association of Schools of Music (NASM)Program accreditationUS

    Scope: as stated by the school

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Southern Methodist University main campus6101 Bishop Blvd.

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Audition
Audition required
Audition details
  • Format: Live or recorded
  • Prescreening: All Voice applicants must first submit a pre-screen video
  • Audition application deadline: Recorded audition and Meadows application due by or before November 1 (Early Action, Early Decision I or Spring Transfer) or February 1 (Regular Decision, Early Decision II or Fall Transfer); the page does not print the year
  • Interview: In addition to auditioning on their primary instrument, Music Education, Music Therapy and Music Composition applicants must interview with faculty.
SourceSpecific to this program and intake. Check the current admissions cycle; nothing here guarantees admission, and you cannot assume you may audition for a particular teacher.
Portfolio
Portfolio required
Portfolio details
  • Number of works: Traditional Track: 2-5 scores; Game and Film Music Track: 2-3 film or game music cues plus one or more notated acoustic scores
  • Accepted media: PDF scores with YouTube/Vimeo videos of performances (live preferred, MIDI realizations acceptable)
  • Platform: Meadows Music Application
  • Subject-specific instructions: Separate portfolio requirements for the Traditional Track and the Game and Film Music Track
  • Written components: 1-2 page written statement of composition interest, background and goals; a complete list of works written to date
  • Interview: Faculty interview via Zoom or in person on audition days
As published by the school. This directory cannot tell you what makes a submission successful and does not guarantee admission.
Interview
Interview required
Documents
Music teacher recommendation required for Music Education, Music Therapy and Music Composition applicants.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether lessons, accompanists, practice rooms, instrument hire, software, recording, recitals, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction