Bachelor’s degree · BM / BMus
Bachelor of Music
Oberlin College and Conservatory · Oberlin Conservatory of Music · Oberlin, Ohio, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of MusicBM
- Subject
- Music PerformanceCompositionJazz StudiesInstrument pathways: Cello, Violin, Viola, Double Bass, Harp, Classical Guitar, Piano, Organ, Harpsichord, Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, French Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Tuba, Percussion, Classical Voice
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- $70,320per year, 2026-27
About this program
Undergraduate Bachelor of Music of the Oberlin Conservatory of Music; majors are listed on the Conservatory areas of study page.
- Department
- Oberlin Conservatory of Music
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Bachelor of MusicBM
- Award family
- BM / BMusA Bachelor of Music or BMus, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Qualification level
- Bachelor’s degree
- Qualification standing
- Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
- Orientation
- Orientation not published
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Music Performance | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | “Cello Programs offered: Major Division: Strings”Source |
| Composition | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | “Composition Programs offered: Major, Minor”Source |
| Jazz Studies | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | “Jazz Performance Programs offered: Major”Source |
| Musicology and Music History | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | “Musicology Programs offered: Major, Minor”Source |
| Electronic Music | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | “TIMARA Programs offered: Major, Minor”Source |
| Music Production | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | “Recording Arts and Production Programs offered: Major”Source |
| Early Music and Historical Performance | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | “Historical Performance Programs offered: Major, Minor”Source |
Instrument and voice pathways
This is ONE program with the verified pathways below, not a separate degree per instrument. A pathway is listed only where an official page names the instrument in the title, as a major or as a formal principal-study option.
| Instrument | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Cello | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Cello Programs offered: Major Division: Strings”Source |
| Violin | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Violin Programs offered: Major”Source |
| Viola | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Viola Programs offered: Major”Source |
| Double Bass | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Double Bass Programs offered: Major”Source |
| Harp | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Harp Programs offered: Major”Source |
| Classical Guitar | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Classical Guitar Programs offered: Major”Source |
| Piano | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Piano Programs offered: Major, Artist Diploma”Source |
| Organ | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Organ Programs offered: Major, Minor, Artist Diploma”Source |
| Harpsichord | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Harpsichord Programs offered: Major, Minor, Graduate”Source |
| Flute | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Flute Programs offered: Major, Performance Diploma, Artist Diploma”Source |
| Oboe | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Oboe Programs offered: Major, Performance Diploma, Artist Diploma”Source |
| Clarinet | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Clarinet Programs offered: Major, Performance Diploma, Artist Diploma”Source |
| Bassoon | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Bassoon Programs offered: Major, Performance Diploma, Artist Diploma”Source |
| French Horn | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Horn Programs offered: Major, Minor”Source |
| Trumpet | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Trumpet Programs offered: Major, Minor”Source |
| Trombone | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Trombone Programs offered: Major, Minor”Source |
| Tuba | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Tuba Programs offered: Major”Source |
| Percussion | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Percussion Programs offered: Major”Source |
| Classical Voice | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Voice Programs offered: Major, Minor”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Oberlin campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Audition
- Audition required
- Audition details
- Audition application deadline: Most auditions and interviews take place over two weekends in February; Early Decision auditions/interviews take place in early December (year not stated on the page).
- Interview: possible
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oberlin College Costs, tuition (page does not separate the conservatory)Tuition · mandatory | $70,320per year, 2026-27 | Oberlin College Costs 2026-27 | 25 October 2026Source |
| Oberlin College Costs, fees (includes a refundable $50 Green Fee that may be waived)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $1,142per year, 2026-27 | Oberlin College Costs 2026-27 | 25 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 25 October 2026)