Music Schools Worldwide

Performance / practice doctorate · DMA

Doctor of Musical Arts

Northwestern University · Henry and Leigh Bienen School of Music · Evanston, Illinois, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Musical ArtsDMA
Subject
Music PerformanceConductingOpera and Vocal Studies
Format
On campus
Tuition
$57,762per year, 2026-27

About this program

Performance-based doctorate combining artistry and scholarly study with a two-year residency.

Department
Henry and Leigh Bienen School of Music
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Doctor of Musical ArtsDMA
Award family
DMAA Doctor of Musical Arts: a performance and practice doctorate, kept separate from the research PhD.
Qualification level
Performance / practice doctorate
Qualification standing
Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
Orientation
Orientation not published
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Music PerformanceNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“Courses of study leading to the Doctor of Musical Arts degree include brass, conducting, percussion, piano, strings, voice and opera, and woodwinds.”Source
ConductingNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“Courses of study leading to the Doctor of Musical Arts degree include brass, conducting, percussion, piano, strings, voice and opera, and woodwinds.”Source
Opera and Vocal StudiesNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“Courses of study leading to the Doctor of Musical Arts degree include brass, conducting, percussion, piano, strings, voice and opera, and woodwinds.”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Northwestern University70 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston, IL 60208-2405

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Audition
Audition requirement not published
Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Research degree details

Department
Bienen School of Music
Practice-based research
Practice-based
Residency expectations
two-year residency

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Graduate (MM and DMA) tuition, full-time enrollment (3-5 units of credit), estimated expensesTuition · mandatory$57,762per year, 2026-27Graduate (MM & DMA) students25 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Lesson fees, accompanists, practice-room charges, instruments, software, recording, recitals, compulsory travel and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked. Do not assume an instrument, an accompanist, software or private lessons are included.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Full-tuition scholarship, stipend and subsidized health insurance for DMA students Scholarship

    Basis not stated · full-tuition scholarship, stipend, and fully subsidized health insurance

    Eligibility: All DMA students

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, audition requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction