Bachelor’s degree · BA / BA (Hons)
Bachelor of Arts in Music (instrumental education, vocal education, liberal arts, performance, composition concentrations)
Nicholls State University · Department of Music · Thibodaux, Louisiana, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of Arts in MusicBA
- Subject
- Music Education (concentration)Music Performance (concentration)Composition (concentration)
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Bachelor of Arts in Music with concentrations in instrumental education, vocal education, liberal arts, performance and composition.
- Department
- Department of Music
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Bachelor of Arts in MusicBA
- Award family
- BA / BA (Hons)A Bachelor of Arts, including BA (Hons). It is not relabelled as a Bachelor of Music.
- Qualification level
- Bachelor’s degree
- Qualification standing
- Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
- Orientation
- Orientation not published
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Music Education | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | Instrumental / Vocal Education (MUSN, MUSV)How students choose it is not published“To become a choir director, the MUSV concentration allows students to earn certification in vocal music education”Source |
| Music Performance | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | MUSP performanceHow students choose it is not published“The MUSP concentration allows students to earn a liberal arts degree in music by offering an intensive study in instrumental and vocal performance.”Source |
| Composition | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | MUSC compositionHow students choose it is not published“The MUSC concentration allows students to gain experience and knowledge in creating their own musical compositions.”Source |
Professional pathway
Academic study and professional licensure or clinical registration are different things. This is recorded exactly as the program states it.
- Type
- Teacher licensure or qualification route
- What the page says
- The MUSN and MUSV concentrations are described as leading to certification in instrumental or vocal music education.Source
Qualifications and professional recognition vary by country and program. Confirm requirements with the relevant professional body before enrolling.
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
Stated by the schoolNational Association of Schools of Music (NASM)Program accreditationUS
Scope: as stated by the school
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Nicholls State University main campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Audition
- Audition requirement not published
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether lessons, accompanists, practice rooms, instrument hire, software, recording, recitals, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, audition requirement, whether a previous degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 25 October 2026)