Music Schools Worldwide

Research doctorate · Other research doctorate

Doctoral studies - Musicology and musical art

National Academy of Music “Prof. Pancho Vladigerov” · National Academy of Music “Prof. Pancho Vladigerov” · Sofia, Bulgaria

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Doctor
Subject
Musicology and Music History
Format
On campusthree years
Tuition
€10,000per year, annual tuition fees for new admissions (year not printed on the page)

About this program

Three-year doctoral studies in the scientific specialty of musicology and musical art, with a scientific research doctoral program and an artistic doctoral program.

Department
National Academy of Music “Prof. Pancho Vladigerov”
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Doctor
Award family
Other research doctorateA research doctorate with a title other than PhD (for example DPhil, DMus as a research degree, Dr. phil.).
Qualification level
Research doctorate
Qualification standing
Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
Orientation
Research orientation
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Musicology and Music HistoryDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
three years
Intakes
Not publishedFixed academic intake
Campus
National Academy of Music “Prof. Pancho Vladigerov”94 Evlogi and Hristo Georgievi Blvd, 1505 Sofia

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Audition
Audition requirement not published
Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Research degree details

Department
NAM faculties
Practice-based research
Practice-based and written components
Finding a supervisor
The faculty council selects the research supervisor and approves the curriculum
Previous qualifications
Individuals who have completed a Master’s degree can apply for doctoral studies
Study modes
regular form of study or independent tuition

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Doctoral studies, non-EU citizensTuition · mandatory€10,000per year, annual tuition fees for new admissions (year not printed on the page)NON-EU citizens25 October 2026Source

Calculated tuition total: €30,000 (Other fee category). Calculated from published annual tuition for annual tuition fees for new admissions (year not printed on the page) x 3 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes lessons, accompanists, practice rooms, instruments, software and other charges.

Lesson fees, accompanists, practice-room charges, instruments, software, recording, recitals, compulsory travel and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked. Do not assume an instrument, an accompanist, software or private lessons are included.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, audition requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction