Music Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · Other master’s award

Master Musiktherapie

Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg · Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg · Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master
Subject
Music Therapy
Format
On campussechs Semester (120 ECTS)
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Part-time Master in music therapy in block seminars, six semesters (120 ECTS), with a psychodynamic orientation; begins every three years.

Department
Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master
Award family
Other master’s awardAnother earned master’s-level award, such as MMusEd, MRes, MPhil, Diplom or a locally named qualification, shown with its official title.
Qualification level
Master’s degree
Qualification standing
Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
Orientation
Professional orientation
Previous degree required
Yes
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Music TherapyDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Professional pathway

Academic study and professional licensure or clinical registration are different things. This is recorded exactly as the program states it.

Type
Music therapy professional pathway
What the page says
The degree is recognised as an admission requirement for certification as Musiktherapeut:in DMtG; the licence to practise independently (Heilerlaubnis) can be obtained after the studies by examination at the competent health office. Studies include supervised internships of at least 210 hours, 75 hours of personal music therapy and 50 hours of supervision.Source
Jurisdiction
Germany

Qualifications and professional recognition vary by country and program. Confirm requirements with the relevant professional body before enrolling.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Part-time
Duration
sechs Semester (120 ECTS)
Campus attendance
Blockseminare: pro Jahr acht erweiterte Wochenenden und zwei Blockwochen
Intakes
Wintersemester 2026 (every three years)Fixed academic intake
Campus
Hamburg

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Audition
Audition requirement not published
Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
mindestens einen Bachelorabschluss (180 ECTS) aus den Bereichen Musik, Psychologie, Medizin, Pädagogik oder Sozialwissenschaften

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether lessons, accompanists, practice rooms, instrument hire, software, recording, recitals, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, audition requirement, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 25 October 2026)

Suggest a correction