Music Schools Worldwide

Bachelor’s degree · BA / BA (Hons)

BA Music

Durham University · Department of Music, Durham University · Durham, England, United Kingdom

Official award
BA MusicBA
Subject
General Music StudiesComposition (concentration)Musicology and Music History (concentration)
Format
On campus3 years full-time
Tuition
£10,050per year, per year, as shown on the 2027-entry course page (academic year not stated)

About this program

A three-year music degree spanning musicology, composition, analysis, ethnomusicology, psychology of music and performance; it can be read as single honours or in combination with other subjects.

Department
Department of Music, Durham University
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
BA MusicBA
Award family
BA / BA (Hons)A Bachelor of Arts, including BA (Hons). It is not relabelled as a Bachelor of Music.
Qualification level
Bachelor’s degree
Qualification standing
Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
Orientation
Orientation not published
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
General Music StudiesDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.
CompositionDocumented pathwayA program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject.CompositionHow students choose it is not published“developing exciting new approaches in musicology, composition (acoustic and electroacoustic), analysis, ethnomusicology, psychology of music, and performance”Source
Musicology and Music HistoryDocumented pathwayA program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject.MusicologyHow students choose it is not published“developing exciting new approaches in musicology, composition (acoustic and electroacoustic), analysis, ethnomusicology, psychology of music, and performance”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
3 years full-time
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Department of Music, Palace Green

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Audition
Audition requirement not published
Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition (home, full-time)Tuition£10,050per year, per year, as shown on the 2027-entry course page (academic year not stated)Home (full-time)25 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
Tuition (international, full-time)Tuition£30,000per year, per year, as shown on the 2027-entry course page (academic year not stated)International (full-time)25 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Lesson fees, accompanists, practice-room charges, instruments, software, recording, recitals, compulsory travel and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked. Do not assume an instrument, an accompanist, software or private lessons are included.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, audition requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction