Certificate · Certificate
Professional Studies Certificate
Colburn School · Colburn Conservatory of Music · Los Angeles, California, United States
- Official award
- Professional Studies Certificate
- Subject
- Music PerformanceInstrument pathways: Bassoon, Cello, Clarinet, Double Bass, Flute, French Horn, Oboe, Percussion, Piano, Trombone, Trumpet, Tuba, Viola, Violin
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- $64,000per year, 2026-27
About this program
Post-baccalaureate certificate emphasising professional and pre-professional activity outside the school, for intensive applied training.
- Department
- Colburn Conservatory of Music
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Professional Studies Certificate
- Award family
- CertificateA certificate-level program. Its standing depends on who issues it: see the qualification kind on each listing.
- Qualification level
- Certificate
- Qualification standing
- Conservatory award (non-degree)An award made by a conservatory in its own name that is not an academic degree, such as an Artist Diploma.
- Orientation
- Orientation not published
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Music Performance | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | “All students in the Conservatory are performance majors”Source |
Instrument and voice pathways
This is ONE program with the verified pathways below, not a separate degree per instrument. A pathway is listed only where an official page names the instrument in the title, as a major or as a formal principal-study option.
| Instrument | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Bassoon | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Bassoon: February 11”Source |
| Cello | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Cello: February 12, 15, 16”Source |
| Clarinet | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Clarinet: February 11”Source |
| Double Bass | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Double Bass: February 15, 16, 17”Source |
| Flute | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Flute: February 8”Source |
| French Horn | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Horn: February 8”Source |
| Oboe | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Oboe: February 8”Source |
| Percussion | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Percussion: February 1”Source |
| Piano | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Piano: Virtual Auditions January 9 and 10”Source |
| Trombone | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Trombone: February 22”Source |
| Trumpet | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Trumpet: February 8”Source |
| Tuba | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Tuba: February 22”Source |
| Viola | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Viola: February 15, 16, 17”Source |
| Violin | Named majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page. | “Violin: February 16, 17, 18”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Colburn School
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- Official TOEFL or IELTS score if English is not the native language
Admissions
- Audition
- Audition required
- Audition details
- Format: Recorded prescreening and live audition
- Prescreening: Prescreening video recording uploaded by the application deadline, then a live audition on campus for invited applicants
- Prescreening deadline: 2026-12-01
- Audition application deadline: Live audition dates in 2027 are set by instrument (see live audition page)
- Interview: A group or one-on-one interview with a senior administrator or faculty committee is part of the audition day
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Interview required
- Statement
- required
- Documents
- Conservatory applicationPrescreening video recordingTranscriptsLetters of recommendation (two)ResumeEssays (two)TOEFL/IELTS score where applicable
- Deadlines
- Conservatory application deadline (2026)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition (the page also states full scholarships for tuition are provided)Tuition · mandatory | $64,000per year, 2026-27 | All students | 25 October 2026Source |
| Comprehensive fee charged to all studentsOther compulsory charge · mandatory | $4,850per year, 2026-27 | All students | 25 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Full scholarships for tuition Scholarship
Basis not stated · full scholarships for tuition
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 25 October 2026)