Music Schools Worldwide

Diploma · Artist Diploma

Artist Diploma

Colburn School · Colburn Conservatory of Music · Los Angeles, California, United States

Official award
Artist Diploma
Subject
Music PerformanceInstrument pathways: Bassoon, Cello, Clarinet, Double Bass, Flute, French Horn, Oboe, Percussion, Piano, Trombone, Trumpet, Tuba, Viola, Violin
Format
On campus
Tuition
$64,000per year, 2026-27

About this program

Post-graduate Artist Diploma offered by the conservatory; a non-degree award.

Department
Colburn Conservatory of Music
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Artist Diploma
Award family
Artist DiplomaAn Artist Diploma. It is a non-degree performance award with its own title: it is never relabelled as a master’s degree.
Qualification level
Diploma
Qualification standing
Conservatory award (non-degree)An award made by a conservatory in its own name that is not an academic degree, such as an Artist Diploma.
Orientation
Orientation not published
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Music PerformanceNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“All students in the Conservatory are performance majors”Source

Instrument and voice pathways

This is ONE program with the verified pathways below, not a separate degree per instrument. A pathway is listed only where an official page names the instrument in the title, as a major or as a formal principal-study option.

InstrumentRelationshipDetail
BassoonNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Bassoon: February 11”Source
CelloNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Cello: February 12, 15, 16”Source
ClarinetNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Clarinet: February 11”Source
Double BassNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Double Bass: February 15, 16, 17”Source
FluteNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Flute: February 8”Source
French HornNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Horn: February 8”Source
OboeNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Oboe: February 8”Source
PercussionNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Percussion: February 1”Source
PianoNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Piano: Virtual Auditions January 9 and 10”Source
TromboneNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Trombone: February 22”Source
TrumpetNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Trumpet: February 8”Source
TubaNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Tuba: February 22”Source
ViolaNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Viola: February 15, 16, 17”Source
ViolinNamed majorThe instrument is a named major of the program, confirmed on an official page.“Violin: February 16, 17, 18”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Colburn School

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Published language requirements
Official TOEFL or IELTS score if English is not the native language

Admissions

Audition
Audition required
Audition details
  • Format: Recorded prescreening and live audition
  • Prescreening: Prescreening video recording uploaded by the application deadline, then a live audition on campus for invited applicants
  • Prescreening deadline: 2026-12-01
  • Audition application deadline: Live audition dates in 2027 are set by instrument (see live audition page)
  • Interview: A group or one-on-one interview with a senior administrator or faculty committee is part of the audition day
SourceSpecific to this program and intake. Check the current admissions cycle; nothing here guarantees admission, and you cannot assume you may audition for a particular teacher.
Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Interview required
Statement
required
Documents
Conservatory applicationPrescreening video recordingTranscriptsLetters of recommendation (two)ResumeEssays (two)TOEFL/IELTS score where applicable
Deadlines
  • Conservatory application deadline (2026)

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition (the page also states full scholarships for tuition are provided)Tuition · mandatory$64,000per year, 2026-27All students25 October 2026Source
Comprehensive fee charged to all studentsOther compulsory charge · mandatory$4,850per year, 2026-27All students25 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Full scholarships for tuition Scholarship

    Basis not stated · full scholarships for tuition

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked