Music Schools Worldwide

Bachelor’s degree · Other bachelor’s award

Music major

Bates College · Department of Music · Lewiston, Maine, United States

Official award
Music major
Subject
Music Performance (concentration)Composition (concentration)Musicology and Music History (concentration)
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Music major in a liberal-arts college department. The fetched department page does not state the degree designation (such as BA), so the award is recorded as the major.

Department
Department of Music
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Music major
Award family
Other bachelor’s awardAnother earned bachelor’s-level award, such as BEd, BMusEd, Diplom or a locally named qualification, shown with its official title.
Qualification level
Bachelor’s degree
Qualification standing
Academic qualificationA degree, or a certificate or diploma awarded by a degree-awarding institution within a national qualifications framework.
Orientation
Orientation not published
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Music PerformanceOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.PerformanceHow students choose it is not published“Concentrations in performance, composition, musicology, and ethnomusicology are available.”Source
CompositionOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.CompositionHow students choose it is not published“Concentrations in performance, composition, musicology, and ethnomusicology are available.”Source
Musicology and Music HistoryOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.MusicologyHow students choose it is not published“Concentrations in performance, composition, musicology, and ethnomusicology are available.”Source
EthnomusicologyOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.EthnomusicologyHow students choose it is not published“Concentrations in performance, composition, musicology, and ethnomusicology are available.”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Bates College campus

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Audition
Audition requirement not published
Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether lessons, accompanists, practice rooms, instrument hire, software, recording, recitals, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, audition requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 25 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 25 October 2026)

Suggest a correction